SWBFGamers

Modding for the Original SWBF1 and SWBF2 => Released Maps and Mods => Topic started by: SleepKiller on January 07, 2012, 07:55:20 AM

Title: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: SleepKiller on January 07, 2012, 07:55:20 AM
Legion Changer Script(s)

http://www.swbfgamers.com/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=414 (http://www.swbfgamers.com/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=414)

Legion changing scripts.

Demonstarted here.(https://www.swbfgamers.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fvideo.xfire.com%2F518cea-4.jpg&hash=4c3e4588a41eb461c78b9efe5384abcec5b2c851) (http://www.xfire.com/video/518cea/)

Read the comments I put in ifs_legion. Make your own side LVLs.

Example .req file of what a side LVL that uses this should look like.

ucft
{
    REQN
    {
       "texture"
       "rep_inf_arc_blue"
       "rep_inf_arc_pack_blue"
       "rep_inf_htrooper"
       "rep_inf_pilot"
       "rep_inf_sharpshooter"
       "rep_inf_trooper"
       "jetpack_prop"
    } 
}

The textures names should match the ones your trying to replace.
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Led on January 07, 2012, 09:41:39 AM
Awesome!   :o
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Phobos on January 07, 2012, 04:50:58 PM
Thanks a ton for releasing this. Really cool and has a lot of potential I will be testing alien unit texture changers and hopefully map skin changers for cloud city.
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Phobos on January 08, 2012, 07:09:01 PM
I have some questions I tried making it change skins for other sides but it didn't work. Is this for clones only and if so how can I change it to other sides?
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: SleepKiller on January 08, 2012, 07:24:33 PM
It loads up a replacment TGA so for other sides it should work as long as the TGA name matches the old TGA's name.
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Phobos on January 08, 2012, 07:41:32 PM
Quote from: SleepKiller on January 08, 2012, 07:24:33 PM
It loads up a replacment TGA so for other sides it should work as long as the TGA name matches the old TGA's name.
all_inf_trooper.tga is the normal skin for one all.lvl
all_inf_trooper.tga is the duke nukem skin for the 2nd all.lvl

But when I click the button to load the 2nd lvl the skin does not change. This is the confusing part.
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: SleepKiller on January 08, 2012, 07:43:44 PM
Hm, strange it should work for anything. Mad eth eappropiate changes to ifs_legion?
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Phobos on January 08, 2012, 07:50:07 PM
This is what I have changed ifs_legion to

{ tag = "allstock", string = "Rebels Stock", },
{ tag = "alltwilight", string = "Rebels Twilight", },

if(this.CurButton == "allstock") then
        ReadDataFileInGame("all.lvl")
elseif (this.CurButton == "alltwilight") then
        ReadDataFileInGame("alltwilight.lvl")

And it does not load the textures from alltwilight.lvl
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: SleepKiller on January 08, 2012, 07:53:41 PM
And the LVLS are located in C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\Star Wars Battlefront\GameData\Data\_LVL_PC\ not any sub-directories?
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Phobos on January 08, 2012, 07:54:50 PM
they are in the SIDE folder.... so i just move them up one folder?

or can i add /side/ to the readdatafile line



Ok so I moved them up a folder but it results in an instant crash every time i change legion!

Message Severity: 3
D:\src\FRONTLINE_PC\RedEngineFL\Memory\RedMemory.cpp(348)
allocation failed - no free blocks left in Heap 5 ((null))
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: SleepKiller on January 08, 2012, 08:14:58 PM
Looks like it is out of memory, how many TGAs are changing at once?
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Phobos on January 08, 2012, 08:20:02 PM
Only the 5 textures for units have been changed. Duke nukem, scientist, gordon freeman, golum, and rancorian pharoh textures for the 5 rebel units. What is the solution?
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: SleepKiller on January 08, 2012, 08:29:22 PM
Very strange I have no idea what is going on sorry.
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Phobos on January 08, 2012, 08:31:17 PM
Nothing is working. I tried making a new side with only the req you posted and only one file edited, the clone pilot TGA in the MSH folder. This stopped the crash but the textures still do not change in game. I am wondering something must be different with your sides because I cannot get skins to change even when using your exact same LUA. Would you be willing to upload your rep501st.lvl so I can see if it works, crashes, or does nothing
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: tirpider on January 08, 2012, 10:45:06 PM
A shot in the dark, could override texture support be an issue?
(I'm not set up to test, just throwing in my first thought)
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: [FC]Target on January 09, 2012, 01:20:48 PM
whenever I attempt to use it the game frezzes as soon as i bring up the main menu.
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: SleepKiller on January 09, 2012, 01:40:02 PM
Well, I know jdee got it working and I got it working. And I have no idea why it crash on the main menu since that is a shell.lvl script. Sorry to anyone who can't get this to work, but I really do have other things I am working on so I can;t provide much support.
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Phobos on January 09, 2012, 03:54:15 PM
At the very least, can you or barc upload one of the sides you got this working with? I don't think the problem is in the common but in the way the sides are built. The other possibility, less likely, could be something like a driver issue? But I think the only surefire way is to test switching to one of the side LVLs you used on my PC.
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: [FC]Target on January 09, 2012, 04:38:59 PM
Update  I got the buttons to show but there is no action for them
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Phobos on January 24, 2012, 02:37:47 PM
Quote from: WUSIEsS.Target on January 09, 2012, 04:38:59 PM
Update  I got the buttons to show but there is no action for them
These scripts are not everything needed to create the mod it claims to. Those who claim the scripts work have been unable or unwilling to prove that they work by means of explanation. I suspect there is a special extra step needed in munging the side which has intentionally been neglected mention of. Not sure why, but that seems to be the case.
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Snake on January 25, 2012, 01:03:17 PM
Quote from: Phobos Developer on January 24, 2012, 02:37:47 PM
These scripts are not everything needed to create the mod it claims to. Those who claim the scripts work have been unable or unwilling to prove that they work by means of explanation. I suspect there is a special extra step needed in munging the side which has intentionally been neglected mention of. Not sure why, but that seems to be the case.

Relax, I'm sure they will help you when they can. I highly doubt theres a conspiracy going on here..  :P
Title: Re: Legion Changer Script(s)
Post by: Phobos on March 05, 2012, 03:57:29 PM
I finally got it working for sniper tga
EhPortal 1.34 © 2025, WebDev