Laptop help

Started by Black Water, December 22, 2012, 06:47:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
Today I bought a laptop so I could play tunngle :D , but I'm new to this so I don't know how to get internet on it.... Are there any more things I have to buy? The OS is windows 8 but I haven't compelety installed it since I need internet to do i ^^.

Ask Google  ;)

This little trick helped me learn a few things about the windows7 os.
http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/unlock-godmode-windows/

But google works too

December 22, 2012, 07:46:47 PM #2 Last Edit: December 22, 2012, 07:48:29 PM by {Alpha}Gold Claus
Alright, I actually play my games with a laptop. But to get internet, you need a router. You can find them for a decent price nowadays anyways. If you have a modem, you will need the router, even if your using an ethernet cable, though I use WiFi. I forget what the price for one is nowadays (we bought a new one like 8 months ago), but basically the router is for WiFi, which you will need for your laptop to get internet. Like I said, if your using an ethernet cable, you will still need a router. If you have a router but it doesn't do WiFi, get a new one I would say.

I'm just basing this off of having internet on my laptop, but your best bet would be Google for an answer, you would get more detailed stuff there.

Then again, my laptop runs Vista (Premium Edition I think). So I wouldn't really have a clue about the new Windows 8 OS, since the UI I think is completely changed.

December 22, 2012, 08:00:13 PM #3 Last Edit: December 22, 2012, 08:05:59 PM by Olde Saint Norris
How is your desktop hooked up to internet? Is there an ethernet cable running from a modem into it? If that's the case take it out of your desktop and put it in your laptop. That will at least allow you to download your drivers Etc. But you will need to look into a router to give you wifi unless you want your laptop to be wired all the time  :P They run between $50-$100 for the type you would need.