swbf maps and the copyright surrounding them

Started by Ltin, April 16, 2013, 03:55:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
I was wondering what the copyrights around battlefront's stock maps and their sides were. Is it legal for me to recreate them im somewhere other than swbf (such as halo, minecraft, runscape, cod, etc...)?
[spoiler]If this is in the wrong section, please move it. i wasn't sure which section this would fall under
[/spoiler]

I'm no copyright expert, but I imagine if you are recreating them and not using the original assets(models, textures, scripts, ect..), then it should be fine.

The thing about copyright is that there isnt anywhere you need to apply, if you can prove you made something first, then the copyright goes to you. this website could be copyright buckler if he wanted it to be (assuming im right. that's the way i understood it)

The conversion pack for SWBFII kind of had SWBFI sides. And they haven't gotten in trouble yet so...
But the sides weren't the same. They messed up some really major stuff.

Thats also within the same franchise. Im going to go ahead and do it. The worst the has a not small chance of happening is it being taken down.

Quote from: Ltin on April 16, 2013, 05:26:45 PM
Im going to go ahead and do it.
How to you plan on doing so? What game(s) are you doing it in?

Im not even sure im doing it yet, but me no tell

If any of the builds require DAE, OBJ, or some close related model format, you know who to call.
I have recently figured out how to completely convert all SWBF models with correct everything. (and edit them in Sketchup might I add)

I was warned on Gametoast, for stealing SWTFU asses, for my Nar Shaddaa map, and have to post my wireframe pics, to prove - those models are mine.
Secondary, I was warned, for stealing SWRC textures, for my ACP shotgun, till, we figure out - my textures from screenshots, and can't be counted as original.