SWBFGamers

Gaming for the Original SWBF1 and SWBF2/other games => Star Wars Battlefront (2004 Original) => Topic started by: TimoCruz on March 08, 2021, 09:24:13 AM

Title: Sleepkiller's model-edit
Post by: TimoCruz on March 08, 2021, 09:24:13 AM
Would anyone be able to explain how to use Sleepkiller's model-edit tool? The readme isn't very clear and it'd really help me out in using higher poly sides.
Title: Re: Sleepkiller's model-edit
Post by: Reimus on March 08, 2021, 11:24:24 AM
Hey!
Well, I use Sleepkiller's model edit tool for my side mods.
So, my explanation will be based on that.
Basically, you have to follow these steps:
1) Munge your side (REP for example)
2) Now go into REP/_BUILD_PC/Sides/REP
3) Copy your "munged" folder found there into your "model-edit" folder (For example: C:/model-edit or wherever your "model-edit" folder is located, so now your "model-edit" folder should contain 3 files: model-edit.exe, model-edit.exe.config and your "munged" folder)
4) Press Win+R, type "cmd" and press enter
5) Type "cd C:/model-edit" and press enter
6) Type "model-edit" and press enter
7) Type "model-edit munged 4" and press enter (Instead of 4 you can use any other factor varied from 1 to 8 )
8 ) Now delete your original "munged" folder located in your REP/_BUILD_PC/Sides/REP
9) Put your new "munged" folder from "model-edit" folder to REP/_BUILD_PC/Sides/REP
10) Back up your munge.bat found in REP/_BUILD_PC
11) Now right-click your munge.bat from REP/_BUILD_PC and press edit
12) Delete these lines:
"del /q Sides\%1\munged\*.*"
"modelmunge -sourcedir ..\Sides\%1 -platform pc -inputfile !*.msh -outputdir Sides\%1\munged\ -maxbones 16 -keep collision -continue -righthanded" and save it
13) Munge your side once again

That's all. You should get rid off low-res models now. Actually I think step 6 is unnecessary but still keep it for safety. If you want to do the same thing again, you just have to replace your munge.bat from REP/_BUILD_PC with the one you backed up and start from the step 1.
Title: Re: Sleepkiller's model-edit
Post by: wsa30h on March 08, 2021, 02:47:13 PM
beware that units can slide if the value is set too high or if the view distance is tooo high or if there are too many units.
Title: Re: Sleepkiller's model-edit
Post by: Dark_Phantom on March 08, 2021, 04:11:37 PM
Also it's much more effective in BF2 than BF1.  BF1 it can help but the much lower limits of BF1 really don't give you much extra room to work with when using model-edit.
Title: Re: Sleepkiller's model-edit
Post by: TimoCruz on March 09, 2021, 01:36:24 PM
Thanks a lot man! I appreciate it! 👍
Title: Re: Sleepkiller's model-edit
Post by: TimoCruz on March 09, 2021, 02:16:44 PM
For some reason the lines you said to delete in the munge.bat file aren't there, any idea why?
Title: Re: Sleepkiller's model-edit
Post by: Reimus on March 09, 2021, 02:32:18 PM
Hmm.
Are you sure you are editing the munge.bat from "_Build_PC" folder of your side file
Title: Re: Sleepkiller's model-edit
Post by: TimoCruz on March 09, 2021, 03:03:42 PM
Yeah I've no idea why it's not there for me
Title: Re: Sleepkiller's model-edit
Post by: Reimus on March 09, 2021, 03:13:15 PM
I'll check this tomorrow.
Could you please tell me what other lines do you have there?
Title: Re: Sleepkiller's model-edit
Post by: TimoCruz on March 09, 2021, 03:26:42 PM
@if "%1" == "" (
   @set FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION="ENGLISH"
) else (
   @set FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION=%1
)

echo %FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION%

del Mungelog.txt

@IF %FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION%=="English"    SET FRONTLINE_LANGDIR=ENG
@IF %FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION%=="ENGLISH"    SET FRONTLINE_LANGDIR=ENG
@IF %FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION%=="UK"         SET FRONTLINE_LANGDIR=UK_
@IF %FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION%=="FRENCH"     SET FRONTLINE_LANGDIR=FRE
@IF %FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION%=="GERMAN"     SET FRONTLINE_LANGDIR=GER
@IF %FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION%=="JAPANESE"   SET FRONTLINE_LANGDIR=JAP
@IF %FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION%=="ITALIAN"   SET FRONTLINE_LANGDIR=ITA
@IF %FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION%=="SPANISH"   SET FRONTLINE_LANGDIR=SPA

@setlocal
@set PATH="%CD%"\..\..\ToolsFL\Bin;%PATH%

@if %FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION%=="ITALIAN" (
 @endlocal
 @set FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION="ITALIAN"
 @set FRONTLINE_LANGDIR=ITA
 @set MUNGE_PLATFORM_DIR_STR=_source_pc
 @set MUNGE_PLATFORM_OVERRIDE_STR=_SOURCE_PC_ITALIAN
 @setlocal
 @cd Common
 @call clean.bat
 @set PATH="%CD%"\..\..\ToolsFL\Bin;%PATH%
 @call munge.bat
 @cd ..\Shell
 @call clean.bat
 @call munge.bat

 @cd ..

) else (
 @cd Common
 @call munge.bat
 @cd ..

 @cd Shell
 @call munge.bat
 @cd ..
)

cd addme
 @call munge.bat
cd ..

cd Sides
REM STARTSIDES
REM cd GAM
REM   @call munge.bat
REM cd ..
cd REP
@call munge.bat
cd ..
REM ENDSIDES
cd ..


cd Worlds
 cd tes1
  @call munge.bat
 cd ..
cd ..

endlocal

cd Sound
@call munge.bat
cd ..

set PACKAGE_NUM=tes1

set FolderExt=
if NOT %FRONTLINE_LANGVERSION%=="ENGLISH" (
   set FolderExt=%FRONTLINE_LANGDIR%
)

xcopy /S /Y /D ..\_lvl_pc\*.lvl ..\..\AddOn%FolderExt%\%PACKAGE_NUM%\Data\_lvl_pc\
xcopy /S /Y /D ..\_lvl_pc\*.mvs ..\..\AddOn%FolderExt%\%PACKAGE_NUM%\Data\_lvl_pc\
xcopy /Y /D addme\munged\addme.script ..\..\AddOn%FolderExt%\%PACKAGE_NUM%\







This is everything in the file
Title: Re: Sleepkiller's model-edit
Post by: Reimus on March 10, 2021, 12:33:00 AM
I guess I see the problem now.
This munge.bat is located in _BUILD_PC/Sides
Back up 2 files: "clean.bat" and "munge_side.bat"
Now, remove the clean.bat from that folder
Then edit munge_side. bat and delete this line:
"modelmunge -sourcedir ..\..\..\Sides\%1 -platformdir ..\..\..\_source_pc\Sides\%1 -platform pc -inputfile !*.msh -outputdir munged\ -checkdate -maxbones 16 -keep collision -continue -righthanded"
Munge your world. It should work now.
EhPortal 1.34 © 2024, WebDev