SWBFGamers

Modding for the Original SWBF1 and SWBF2 => SWBF1 Modding Tutorials => Topic started by: Led on September 18, 2012, 07:19:44 PM

Title: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Led on September 18, 2012, 07:19:44 PM
This post will be reserved for Q & A for resolving BFBuilder problems.  Please help identify problems and solutions.  I need a comprehensive reference for everyone that has problems.
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Phobos on September 18, 2012, 07:47:11 PM
Problem: Buildings scrambled around when loaded in zeroeditor.
Solution: Open the config.ini in the map's DataID folder, add this line to the bottom:
FlipModelX = 1
Save, close and set config.ini to read-only.

Problem: BFBuilder (normal or pro) does not let you create DataID folders of stock map names.
Solution: Edit BFBuilderPro.hta with notepad. Remove this entire section of code and save:
Function NewWorld()
    CreateNew.style.visibility = "hidden"
    ProjectMenuButtonDisabled.style.visibility = "hidden"
    dim modnametitle
    dim modnameshort
    dim modnameshortdata
    modnametitle = vmodnametitle.value
    modnameshort = vmodnameshortn.value
    erastoinclude = eras.value
    modnameshortu = UCase(vmodnameshortn.value)
    modnameshortdata = "Data"&modnameshort
    modid=modnameshortu   
    'MsgBox erastoinclude
    Select Case LCase(modid)
        Case "bes1"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "bes2"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case  "geo1"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "hot1"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "kam1"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "kas1"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "kas2"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "nab1"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "nab2"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "rhn1"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "rhn2"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "tat1"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "tat2"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "tat3"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "yav1"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "yav2"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists in Game"
        Case "mod1"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists"
        Case "mod2"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists"
        Case "template"
            MsgBox modid&" Already Exists"
        Case Else
            dim fso
            set fso=CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
            If fso.FolderExists(modnameshortdata) Then
                MsgBox modnameshortdata &" Folder Already Exists", 16
            Else
                Call CreateModFolder(modnameshortdata,modnametitle,erastoinclude)
            End If
            set fso = nothing
    End Select
End Function
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: KommissarReb on June 14, 2015, 10:05:39 AM
Whenever I try to create a new map or edit a pre-existing one, this (https://www.dropbox.com/s/z1ho2vv75uctu6w/BFBuilder%20error.png?dl=0) happens.  :rant:

I want to create my own map with 3 sides, and I have really neat ideas, but I have a feeling that nobody would want to do it for me so I was going to try and do it myself. I cannot do this if the  :censored: editor won't work!
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Led on June 14, 2015, 12:17:46 PM
Quote from: KommissarReb on June 14, 2015, 10:05:39 AM
Whenever I try to create a new map or edit a pre-existing one, this (https://www.dropbox.com/s/z1ho2vv75uctu6w/BFBuilder%20error.png?dl=0) happens.  :rant:

I want to create my own map with 3 sides, and I have really neat ideas, but I have a feeling that nobody would want to do it for me so I was going to try and do it myself. I cannot do this if the  :censored: editor won't work!


Calm down.  Partial curse words to get around the censor filter will get you official warnings and eventually muted.

Now, to answer your BFbuilder issue (at least what I can tell of it), set the FlipModelX flag.
Also, in SWBF you can't have three sides, just two sides and some local teams.
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: KommissarReb on June 14, 2015, 01:13:57 PM
Quote from: Led on June 14, 2015, 12:17:46 PM

To answer your BFbuilder issue (at least what I can tell of it), set the FlipModelX flag.
Also, in SWBF you can't have three sides, just two sides and some local teams.

How do I set the FlipModelX flag? When I said 3 sides, the third side I meant was the local team. Is it possible to make a mod where you can play as the local team as well as the two main teams?

Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Led on June 14, 2015, 01:25:21 PM
Quote from: KommissarReb on June 14, 2015, 01:13:57 PM
How do I set the FlipModelX flag? When I said 3 sides, the third side I meant was the local team. Is it possible to make a mod where you can play as the local team as well as the two main teams?

Just as phobos mentioned, open the config.ini (use notepad) and add that line.  If you cannot see the config.ini file, then you need to enable viewing of system files and folder.

You can have local teams, but only two teams can be playable.


Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Cmd_Smith on June 14, 2015, 01:44:24 PM
My problem is: when editing a stock map (BF 1 and 2) I cannot select/move/delete objects that are already there. What if  want the terrain from one map, but not the objects?
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Phobos on June 14, 2015, 02:30:07 PM
Quote from: Cmd_Smith on June 14, 2015, 01:44:24 PM
My problem is: when editing a stock map (BF 1 and 2) I cannot select/move/delete objects that are already there. What if  want the terrain from one map, but not the objects?
Did you disable read-only for the entire DATA map folder? The stock assets in world1 folder are read-only by default and have to be disabled for editing. You could try moving other WLD and LYR files to the custom world1 folder that has a specific terrain you want to use.
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: KommissarReb on June 14, 2015, 05:24:48 PM
Quote from: Led on June 14, 2015, 01:25:21 PM
Just as phobos mentioned, open the config.ini (use notepad) and add that line.  If you cannot see the config.ini file, then you need to enable viewing of system files and folder.

You can have local teams, but only two teams can be playable.

Please explain this to me as though you are talking to a 4 year old. I opened the config.ini inside DataMod1 and was going to add FlipModelX = 1 at the bottom, and it was there.

I couldn't follow Phobos's intructions of the second issue, because I wasn't able to find that code anywhere in BFBuilderPro.hta when I opened it with notepad. Does it look exactly the way Phobos has it, or do I have to go and find each line (its a problem since there's more than one of the same line)
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Led on June 14, 2015, 07:37:54 PM
If it is in there, then you should not have that problem.

Phobo's second comment was for a different issue and is only a problem is you want to create a mod map using the map ID of a stock world.  I suggest you not mess with this particular problem and just make a non-stock map ID for your mod map.
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: KommissarReb on June 15, 2015, 07:55:50 AM
Quote from: Led on June 14, 2015, 07:37:54 PM
If it is in there, then you should not have that problem.


So...is it impossible for me to create/edit a map if there is no known reason why the BFBuilder doesn't work?

I suppose if that's the case, I could just make requests to people what kind of map I'd suggest making. I don't want to resort to that, as I have what I'd consider a neat idea for a BF1 map.
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Led on June 15, 2015, 09:31:52 AM
Quote from: KommissarReb on June 15, 2015, 07:55:50 AM
So...is it impossible for me to create/edit a map if there is no known reason why the BFBuilder doesn't work?

I suppose if that's the case, I could just make requests to people what kind of map I'd suggest making. I don't want to resort to that, as I have what I'd consider a neat idea for a BF1 map.

The only problem you have described is (potentially) the model flip problem. 

How about starting over and describing your problem in detail and include screen shots so everyone can understand what the issue is.  In this late stage of modding for SWBF, there are not many modders that will take requests, so you are best sticking with your original idea of figuring things out and making your own maps.
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Phobos on June 15, 2015, 06:10:31 PM
If you have saved the world when the flipmodel x wasn't added to your config.ini then the objects are permanently displaced and you will have to start over or fix them. It's a good idea to backup the world1 folder ( i use 7zip for archiving) often when modding maps.

If you can explain in more detail and post screenshots we might have a better idea how to help.
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: KommissarReb on June 16, 2015, 07:01:05 AM
Quote from: Led on June 15, 2015, 09:31:52 AM
The only problem you have described is (potentially) the model flip problem. 

How about starting over and describing your problem in detail and include screen shots so everyone can understand what the issue is.  In this late stage of modding for SWBF, there are not many modders that will take requests, so you are best sticking with your original idea of figuring things out and making your own maps.

It may be more efficient to show you what the problem is. Click here (https://youtu.be/iJX7e74sPLU) to see what I did exactly, and if you can pinpoint the problem, please let me know.

By the way, the FlipModel X = 1 was in every config.ini I saw, not just the one in the DataMod1 folder.
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Phobos on June 16, 2015, 10:03:12 AM
Try using BFBuilder Pro and also place the BFBuilder folder directly in C:\ then try again and see if it works.
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Led on June 16, 2015, 11:11:11 AM
If you use this mod tool package, it will have all the updates already applied, plus a few other goodies:

http://www.swbfgamers.com/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=1219

Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: KommissarReb on June 22, 2015, 03:35:24 PM
Quote from: Phobos on June 16, 2015, 10:03:12 AM
Try using BFBuilder Pro and also place the BFBuilder folder directly in C:\ then try again and see if it works.

The reason why I didn't put BFBuilder in WIN7 (C:) is because there is a space between "7" and "(". I read the readme for the Mod Tools, and it said:

QuoteVERY IMPORTANT:  You cannot extract this to a folder that contains spaces.
For example C:Program FilesBFBUILDER will not work. <======================
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Led on June 22, 2015, 04:43:51 PM
Quote from: KommissarReb on June 22, 2015, 03:35:24 PM
The reason why I didn't put BFBuilder in WIN7 (C:) is because there is a space between "7" and "(". I read the readme for the Mod Tools, and it said:

WIN7 is your hard drive name, and its label is (C:).

It has nothing to do with a space in the folder name.
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: KommissarReb on June 29, 2015, 03:34:23 AM
Okay, so do I put SWBF-ModTools-141111 in WIN7 (C:), or do I go in SWBF-ModTools-141111/LucasArts and pull out the BFBuilder folder and put it in WIN7 (C:)? What do I do about all the other folders? (before you ask, I've already used the BoPC Registry fix and put SPTest in GameData)
Title: Re: WIP: BFBuilder Common Problems and Solutions
Post by: Moroff on September 23, 2017, 09:23:54 AM
2 problems...

1. ZE crashes when I try to run it.

2. When I put the munged sides into the battlefront LVL_PC, all the things that I have edited appear completely blank.
EhPortal 1.34 © 2024, WebDev