SWBFGamers

Modding for the Original SWBF1 and SWBF2 => SWBF1 Modding => Topic started by: Snake on April 10, 2010, 04:57:31 PM

Title: [SOLVED] Changing map name
Post by: Snake on April 10, 2010, 04:57:31 PM
Hey guys, can anyone explain how to rename the map? not the mod id but the in-game name. I am basing my map off the ELITE clan map I made and the name of the map is ELITE Clan Map so I want to change it lol.
Title: Re: [HELP] Changing map name
Post by: MileHighGuy on April 10, 2010, 05:09:50 PM
If im not misaken..

in the localize tool add a root level scope called mapname,
add a scope to that called name,
then add a key to that that uses the same name as your map's short name.
From there just select the key and write what you want in the box to the right.
Title: Re: [HELP] Changing map name
Post by: Jedikiller on April 10, 2010, 05:23:51 PM
Actually, the localize tool does not handle the name of the map. If you want to change it, you have to edit addme.script.

Assuming that you do not have the sources for the map:
Open up addme.script in the main directory of the map- that is, Addon/Map1/addme.script. Search for the current name of the map displayed ingame within the file. Once you find it, delete whatever's currently there, and type in what you want it to be in the map list. Simple.

If you're doing this from within BFBuilder, then from your project's folder, open up the addme folder, then addme.lua. Where it says local newEntry = { mapluafile = "MOD1", showstr = "MOD MAP 1", side_c = 1, side_a = 1, dnldable = 1, }
change to
local newEntry = { mapluafile = "MOD1", showstr = "NEW NAME HERE", side_c = 1, side_a = 1, dnldable = 1, }

Save, clean, munge. Done!
Title: Re: [HELP] Changing map name
Post by: Snake on April 10, 2010, 05:43:29 PM
Thanks JK you're a real life saver  :D thx to you too milehighguy
Title: Re: [HELP] Changing map name
Post by: Phobos on April 10, 2010, 06:10:59 PM
Quote from: Snake on April 10, 2010, 05:43:29 PM
Thanks JK you're a real life saver  :D thx to you too milehighguy
local newEntry = { mapluafile = "MOD1", showstr = "NEW NAME HERE", side_c = 1, side_a = 1, dnldable = 1, }
Note: Also to specify eras side_c is clone and side_a is rebels so if you only want gcw it would look like this:
local newEntry = { mapluafile = "MOD1", showstr = "NEW NAME HERE", side_a = 1, dnldable = 1, }
Title: Re: [HELP] Changing map name
Post by: Snake on April 10, 2010, 06:16:25 PM
hmm. Cool thanks I could use that.  ;)
Title: Re: [SOLVED] Changing map name
Post by: Xfire Keenmike aka cull on April 11, 2010, 11:12:08 PM
I just hex edit the thing, in my past. Cool that there is a way to do it that way.
EhPortal 1.34 © 2024, WebDev