A few questions

Started by {Alpha}Boom27, July 06, 2012, 10:59:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
Hey, I'm really new to modding, and there's a lot of things I've run into a few things that I just can't figure out.

First is probably something that's simple, but I just don't know what to do. I've figured out I can change the .MSH and .TGA files to make my own custom skins and models, but sometimes it doesn't add up. I used a mandalorian model and skin (from a previous request I made) to replace the arc trooper and its skin. I figured out I could rename the files to rep_inf_arc_blue and it'd work. I modded the .ODF to give the heavy a jetpack and take away the jet's jetpack and decided I wanted some sort of arc commander class instead of a jet, seeing as my new mando would take over as ariel assault. I replaced the model and skins with the appropriate files, but the arc model still wants to pull its skin from the rep_inf_arc_blue files, which are the mandalorian skins, so when I munge the rep.lvl up, the arc commander looks goofy. I don't know what's wrong, and would really appreciate some insight and wisdom here.

Second, and this is probably same or similar situation as the first, I don't have a clue how to implement custom weapon models. I .ODF modded the commando pistol to fire like and smg and put it with the heavy class so my mando could use it. I ran across a mandalorian rifle model and skin, but I have no idea how to put it in and make it look right. I can set the commando pistol .ODF to draw its .MSH from the mando rifle, but then I have no idea how to make the .MSH draw its skin from the mando skin. I munge and end up with a black model. Again, I'd appreciate insight and wisdom.

Third, and more of a relative curiosity. How do you change unit and weapon names? I'm sure it isn't .ODF because the tutorials I've read don't mention it nor have I found an appropriate line to change it.