login

Author Topic: Setting up a quick server  (Read 1012 times)

Shazam

  • [FC]
  • Master Modder
  • This Man Has No Life
  • ***
  • Posts: 1344
  • Awards Special Award for those that play the original SWBF A member of the winning team of ICW5 Administered events in ICW5 ICW4 Participant ICW3 Participant ICW2 Participant Intergalactic Clan War 1 Participant A member of the winning team of ICW6
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
Setting up a quick server
« on: March 10, 2015, 10:33:22 AM »
What is the quickest, simplest way to set up a non-dedicated server?

I have my hosts.file modified in order to play on GameMaster, but (as far as I know) I can't just click "create" instead of "join" and have the server show up for my friend and I to play on.  We've been playing on Tunngle, but Tunngle isn't near as good as GameMaster.

-edit:  Oh, and I only have one PC to play on.  Hosting on one computer and playing on another is not an option for me.

Thanks in advance!

« Last Edit: March 10, 2015, 10:36:27 AM by Shazam »

Led

  • Administrator
  • The Chosen One
  • *****
  • Posts: 5966
  • The 82nd Element
  • Awards Award for extensive modding contributions and/or donations to TWD Battlefront Special Award for players of the EA Reboot of SWBF Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: _PLA-Led
  • Origin ID: plaled
Re: Setting up a quick server
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2015, 12:13:27 PM »
Read my hosting guide.  You will just need to portforward.

http://www.swbfgamers.com/index.php?topic=1375.0
« Last Edit: March 10, 2015, 12:15:17 PM by Led »

Anyder

  • Global Moderator & Illuminated Modder
  • Community Ambassador
  • Lavish Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3431
  • Awards A member of the winning team of ICW6 A member of the winning team of ICW5 To recognize Modders that make a most excellent contribution within the Month SWBF LeaderBoards 2-first ICW4 Winner Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site Special Award for players of the EA Reboot of SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Origin ID: AnyderMotionless
Re: Setting up a quick server
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2015, 12:25:46 PM »
What is the quickest, simplest way to set up a non-dedicated server?

I have my hosts.file modified in order to play on GameMaster, but (as far as I know) I can't just click "create" instead of "join" and have the server show up for my friend and I to play on.  We've been playing on Tunngle, but Tunngle isn't near as good as GameMaster.

-edit:  Oh, and I only have one PC to play on.  Hosting on one computer and playing on another is not an option for me.

Thanks in advance!
Cant u run multiple sessions ??
| SWBFSpy Admin | Community Ambassador | communityambassador@swbfgamers.com


Motionless in White - Rats

Shazam

  • [FC]
  • Master Modder
  • This Man Has No Life
  • ***
  • Posts: 1344
  • Awards Special Award for those that play the original SWBF A member of the winning team of ICW5 Administered events in ICW5 ICW4 Participant ICW3 Participant ICW2 Participant Intergalactic Clan War 1 Participant A member of the winning team of ICW6
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
Re: Setting up a quick server
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2015, 05:18:04 PM »
Read my hosting guide.  You will just need to portforward.

http://www.swbfgamers.com/index.php?topic=1375.0

OK, thanks.  I'll give that a shot.

Cant u run multiple sessions ??

I used to run dedicated servers back when we used the GameSpy master server, but I haven't since.  Is it the same +portforwarding?

Led

  • Administrator
  • The Chosen One
  • *****
  • Posts: 5966
  • The 82nd Element
  • Awards Award for extensive modding contributions and/or donations to TWD Battlefront Special Award for players of the EA Reboot of SWBF Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: _PLA-Led
  • Origin ID: plaled
Re: Setting up a quick server
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2015, 06:55:46 PM »


I used to run dedicated servers back when we used the GameSpy master server, but I haven't since.  Is it the same +portforwarding?

Yes.

Shazam

  • [FC]
  • Master Modder
  • This Man Has No Life
  • ***
  • Posts: 1344
  • Awards Special Award for those that play the original SWBF A member of the winning team of ICW5 Administered events in ICW5 ICW4 Participant ICW3 Participant ICW2 Participant Intergalactic Clan War 1 Participant A member of the winning team of ICW6
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
Re: Setting up a quick server
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2015, 08:12:38 PM »
I am currently on the 'Select Your Router' step, and my router is not an option.

What should I do?

I have a 2wire i38HG.

Led

  • Administrator
  • The Chosen One
  • *****
  • Posts: 5966
  • The 82nd Element
  • Awards Award for extensive modding contributions and/or donations to TWD Battlefront Special Award for players of the EA Reboot of SWBF Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: _PLA-Led
  • Origin ID: plaled
Re: Setting up a quick server
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2015, 08:22:58 PM »
I am currently on the 'Select Your Router' step, and my router is not an option.

What should I do?

I have a 2wire i38HG.


edit:  try this link
https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=2wire+i38hg+port+forwarding


Try to find your manual and find out how to portforward.

https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=2wire+i38hg+manual


Shazam

  • [FC]
  • Master Modder
  • This Man Has No Life
  • ***
  • Posts: 1344
  • Awards Special Award for those that play the original SWBF A member of the winning team of ICW5 Administered events in ICW5 ICW4 Participant ICW3 Participant ICW2 Participant Intergalactic Clan War 1 Participant A member of the winning team of ICW6
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
Re: Setting up a quick server
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2015, 10:20:51 PM »
Try to find your manual and find out how to portforward.

https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=2wire+i38hg+manual

We do not have our manual, but I believe I found the correct one online.



I think I have it figured out, but I'll make sure in the morning.

Thanks for the help!
« Last Edit: March 10, 2015, 10:51:55 PM by Shazam »