Author Topic: OverrideTexture Compatible Units  (Read 18540 times)

Giftheck

  • Imperial Shock Trooper
  • Moderators
  • Internet Addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 2421
  • Awards Releasing Multiple Mods on SWBFgamers.com
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • PSN: giftheck
  • Steam ID:
Re: OverrideTexture Compatible Units
« Reply #45 on: January 06, 2015, 02:22:26 AM »
Just a quick question: before, the stock Chewbacca had a bone problem with the hip bag the model has. Because the skeleton is a little different (and I'd assume you can't use the BF2 Chewbacca skeleton in BF1) the bag stretches to the floor. Was this fixed when you made the model OTC compatible?

Also, an idea if you wanted to do the Jedi. You could use the BF1 Mace Windu or BF2 Jedi skirt with a remapped UV. You would have to adjust for Darth Maul though. I've done BJ mockups of what these might look like if you're interested.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2015, 04:43:30 AM by Gistech »
Works in Progress:

--Star Wars: Battlefront 1.25: "First Order-Resistance War Expansion" (2020)
--Main Play Mod Reboot (TBA)
--Star Wars: Battlefront Legacy Phase II (TBA)

Giftheck

  • Imperial Shock Trooper
  • Moderators
  • Internet Addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 2421
  • Awards Releasing Multiple Mods on SWBFgamers.com
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • PSN: giftheck
  • Steam ID:
Re: OverrideTexture Compatible Units
« Reply #46 on: May 22, 2015, 07:50:49 AM »
A bit of a bump, but did you ever figure out how to finish these? I was wondering, as you can essentially export the capes on the BF2 units as 'enveloped' meshes like the BF1 caped units. Of course, there are some modifications that need to be done to get it to work IE getting the skirt printed to the right bone (I believe bone_pelvis is suitable for the skirts as dummyroot goes beneath the unit). I'm experimenting with that now.

EDIT: Doesn't quite work out as I intended as a lot of it is mapped to the bone_root. However, that's not to say it's not possible: it should be a simple matter of simply re-enveloping the skirt and adjusting the weights. However... it may be easier for certain units to either stick to BF1 versions (Snowtrooper, ARC Trooper) or to map those units with the ARC skirt (primarily for Episode III units)
« Last Edit: May 22, 2015, 11:10:35 AM by Gistech »
Works in Progress:

--Star Wars: Battlefront 1.25: "First Order-Resistance War Expansion" (2020)
--Main Play Mod Reboot (TBA)
--Star Wars: Battlefront Legacy Phase II (TBA)

i2Bros

  • Frequent Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • "No one messes with the 501st!"
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Origin ID: i2Bros
Re: OverrideTexture Compatible Units
« Reply #47 on: September 03, 2016, 11:02:42 AM »
OverrideTexture Compatible Units
(OTC units)

The goal of this series is to give all the playable units OverrideTexture compatability for convienience and consistancy in modding and side building.

(read more of my rambling here:)
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

The unit downloads can be found under the spoilers in the next section, and in the OTC Units area in the downloads section of this site.


The Units

ALL - Rebel Alliance (23 of 27)(the last 4 are on hold)
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

CIS - Confederacy of Independent Systems (5 of 14)
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

EWK - Ewoks (0 of 2)
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

DES - Jawa and Tuskens (1 of 2)
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

GAR - Naboo Royal Palace Guards (1 of ?)
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

IMP - The Galactic Empire (24 of 24) (revising 1)
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

REP - The Republic Army (1 of ?)
Spoiler (click to show/hide)


I've yet to catalog/start the following sides.
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Tools Used in these edits:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)


If you would like me to jump ahead to a specific unit, let me know. I have no set order to do these in.

Treat these models in the same way you would the stock models as far as crediting and usage is concerned. It's all Pandemic's work, I'm just hilighting things and adding the OverrideTexture to them..
 _
tirpider@yahoo.com
Visit http://www.swbfgamers.com/

hi tirpider, how do you make a msh overridetexture compatible?
"Come on, you apes! Do you wanna live forever?"
 - Lieutenant Rasczak speaking to the Roughnecks troopers

Giftheck

  • Imperial Shock Trooper
  • Moderators
  • Internet Addict
  • ****
  • Posts: 2421
  • Awards Releasing Multiple Mods on SWBFgamers.com
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • PSN: giftheck
  • Steam ID:
Re: OverrideTexture Compatible Units
« Reply #48 on: September 03, 2016, 11:41:53 AM »
hi tirpider, how do you make a msh overridetexture compatible?

You usually have to have XSI to do it. You'd import your MSH file and rename the primary mesh you want to have an interchangeable texture as "override_texture". If your unit has two meshes and two textures, you'd name the second mesh as "override_texture2". Then you'd export it. Your .option file for the mesh MUST have the following line to work though:

-keepmaterial override_texture override_texture2

(the latter only if you have a mesh called override_texture2)
Works in Progress:

--Star Wars: Battlefront 1.25: "First Order-Resistance War Expansion" (2020)
--Main Play Mod Reboot (TBA)
--Star Wars: Battlefront Legacy Phase II (TBA)

i2Bros

  • Frequent Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • "No one messes with the 501st!"
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Origin ID: i2Bros
Re: OverrideTexture Compatible Units
« Reply #49 on: September 03, 2016, 12:03:25 PM »
It would be so cool to do this by my own, but my softmunge doesn't work quite well or I'm not able to use it very much. :(
"Come on, you apes! Do you wanna live forever?"
 - Lieutenant Rasczak speaking to the Roughnecks troopers