Blackfoot Repair (kludge)

Started by tirpider, November 17, 2011, 02:45:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
November 17, 2011, 02:45:16 PM Last Edit: November 22, 2011, 01:36:44 PM by tirpider
Blackfoot Repair (kludge)

Blackfoot is the un-intentional appearance of part of the skeleton of a model.
In some cases, it appears on or below the ground, directly between the legs of the character.
Sometimes it is a diamond shape inside the body of the model, and only appears (passing through the body or head,) during animation.

I believe what causes this, is the lack of, or improper FLGS in the skeleton MODL chunk(s).
There may be more to the issue, but this repair will get the blackfoot off the model and the game.

I'm going to ramble about some stuff now, feel free to skip to "Ok. So how do I do that?" to avoid boredom.
Bear with me as I am as good a writer, as I am a programmer. (meh)

First off, What is a MODL chunk?
[spoiler]MODL is a tag inside the msh file that defines geometries, points, and spaces for that model.
There are several types of geometries, and usually many MODL chunks per msh. Each can have it's own skin, shape, and visiblility settings. Those settings are contained in sub tags. To see an example of all these tags, load up a msh in the Starwars Battlefront Viewer and select "Show" then "Debug Window."[/spoiler]

Ok, What does all that mean?
[spoiler]Good question. Some of it is self explanitory, some isn't. I've got a thread on the msh structure [here]http://www.swbfgamers.com/index.php?topic=3905.0. I don't know what most of it means and am learning more about it every day. You don't have to know all about it to interact with it though. (Just like BFBuilder, eh?) Basicly, it's all the settings, geometries, material, camera, translation information, the game needs to render the model.[/spoiler]

What part Fixes blackfoot?
[spoiler]FLGS.
I don't know what setting diferent values for it does. GT has a thread on it and I'll link to it from here.