Author Topic: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility/Historical)  (Read 12994 times)

Davenport

  • The Resident Bird
  • {Alpha}
  • This Man Has No Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 1369
  • Captain of The Alpha Clan [TAC]
  • Awards Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site Special Award for those that play SWBF2 Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • The Alpha Clan
    • Awards
  • PSN: Only_Whisper
  • Steam ID:
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #15 on: September 11, 2012, 08:58:40 AM »
The mapname is very important to get correct.  The folder is called tat3,
and the extension "c" is usually for CW era and the "a" is usually for the GCW era. However, some maps don't use this designation, and there is no way to know for sure if the mod map maker followed these conventions.  (Although you may try looking in the addme.script file to get some clues.)

Does this have anything to do with regular maps in the ticketing for the batches? Becuase I cannot figure out how to change it from CW to GCW.

Led

  • Administrator
  • The Chosen One
  • *****
  • Posts: 6538
  • The 82nd Element
  • Awards Special Award for players of the EA's SWBF (2015) Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: _PLA-Led
  • Origin ID: plaled
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #16 on: September 11, 2012, 09:52:49 AM »
Yes.  For stock maps, use the GUI and see what appears at the bottom when you press start.
Don't believe everything you read on the internet

Davenport

  • The Resident Bird
  • {Alpha}
  • This Man Has No Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 1369
  • Captain of The Alpha Clan [TAC]
  • Awards Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site Special Award for those that play SWBF2 Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • The Alpha Clan
    • Awards
  • PSN: Only_Whisper
  • Steam ID:
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #17 on: September 11, 2012, 01:37:21 PM »
i feel bad for asking as many questions as i do here, but when i run the batch and the map ends, the server crashes, crashing my game too. Fix?

Led

  • Administrator
  • The Chosen One
  • *****
  • Posts: 6538
  • The 82nd Element
  • Awards Special Award for players of the EA's SWBF (2015) Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: _PLA-Led
  • Origin ID: plaled
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2012, 04:41:43 PM »
make sure there are no extra spaces after the last maps reinforcement count:

bes2a 200 200<-------------nothing else after this, no spaces or enter button presses or anything
Don't believe everything you read on the internet

Davenport

  • The Resident Bird
  • {Alpha}
  • This Man Has No Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 1369
  • Captain of The Alpha Clan [TAC]
  • Awards Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site Special Award for those that play SWBF2 Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • The Alpha Clan
    • Awards
  • PSN: Only_Whisper
  • Steam ID:
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2012, 05:10:43 PM »
gotcha... thanks. All this hard work is coming together. thank you so much. :D

{212}FrenchFryZ

  • {Two-Hundred-Twelve}
  • {212}
  • Frequent Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Awards ICW3 Winner ICW2 Participant
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #20 on: September 27, 2012, 06:04:07 AM »
I have a quistion,my dedicated pc server stoped working again I re-downloaded it about 4 days ago and within two days it had stopped working again...idk why i can press start and see that the sever is loading and then it comes up with the name and the sides and units and stuff but when i enter back into the game it isnt there!

Edit: Thank you for the answers on my other thread :) i think that i know exactly what to do now :)
« Last Edit: October 03, 2012, 06:00:54 AM by {Recruit}FrenchFry »

RepComm

  • Internet Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 2523
  • Deobfuscating swbf protocol!
  • Awards Award for extensive modding contributions and/or donations to TWD Battlefront ICW2 Participant
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #21 on: November 12, 2012, 09:45:38 PM »
Another funny thing about invinciblity, if you go out of battlefield in a tank, and switch to the turret (the secondary slot that you can not drive the tank in)  you die.  Weird...
swbf-unmunge-howto

We're successfully DE-obfuscating the battlefront tcp/udp protocol! 12/10/17

Gold Man

  • Comic Team Moderator and Alpha Clan Retiree
  • This Man Has No Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 1876
  • Just chillin'.
  • Awards Special Award for those that play the original SWBF ICW4 Participant ICW3 Participant Intergalactic Clan War 1 Participant
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • PSN: Bronzium
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: goldman27
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #22 on: November 12, 2012, 09:51:19 PM »
Well, it does say "enemy fire", and generally that assumes if you are in command of vehicle, or on foot. Secondary position in a vehicle and being in a turret, or end of map with no vehicle, are generally your dead-zones. :P

Shoot me a membergroup request if you want to join our Comic Team! :D

Ltin

  • Greyscale Trout
  • This Man Has No Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
  • Wololo
  • Awards Special Award for those that play SWBF2 Special Award for those that play the original SWBF ICW4 Participant
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #23 on: November 18, 2012, 11:46:59 AM »
.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2017, 03:45:13 PM by Ltin »

Led

  • Administrator
  • The Chosen One
  • *****
  • Posts: 6538
  • The 82nd Element
  • Awards Special Award for players of the EA's SWBF (2015) Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: _PLA-Led
  • Origin ID: plaled
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #24 on: November 18, 2012, 11:59:48 AM »
Is it possible to do the dedicated server thing with gameranger/tunngle?

Tunngle yes, GameRanger no (at least as far was we have been able to figure out).

Update 8/2015:  Scott from GameRanger has fixed it so we can use the dedicated server software for SWBF on GameRanger.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2015, 04:23:28 PM by Led »
Don't believe everything you read on the internet

RepComm

  • Internet Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 2523
  • Deobfuscating swbf protocol!
  • Awards Award for extensive modding contributions and/or donations to TWD Battlefront ICW2 Participant
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #25 on: September 22, 2013, 01:20:32 PM »
Do we know what the maximum throttle is for the app command line?
Also, is there a minimum? I need to set the range for a GUI slider test.
- I think what I just asked is irrelevant.. Because if I am thinking correctly, you do not want a slider for determining a bandwidth throttle amount..?
« Last Edit: September 22, 2013, 01:37:42 PM by -RepublicCommando- »
swbf-unmunge-howto

We're successfully DE-obfuscating the battlefront tcp/udp protocol! 12/10/17

Led

  • Administrator
  • The Chosen One
  • *****
  • Posts: 6538
  • The 82nd Element
  • Awards Special Award for players of the EA's SWBF (2015) Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: _PLA-Led
  • Origin ID: plaled
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #26 on: September 22, 2013, 02:30:03 PM »
Do we know what the maximum throttle is for the app command line?
Also, is there a minimum? I need to set the range for a GUI slider test.
- I think what I just asked is irrelevant.. Because if I am thinking correctly, you do not want a slider for determining a bandwidth throttle amount..?

In the GUI there is a discrete amount, maybe 6 values or so.  I do not know if it can be uncapped, or what would happen if you left off the value, or if you can set any value you want.

If you wanted to test this, then I would suggest that you set up a high TPS server and see what happens at various cap levels.



Don't believe everything you read on the internet

RepComm

  • Internet Addict
  • *****
  • Posts: 2523
  • Deobfuscating swbf protocol!
  • Awards Award for extensive modding contributions and/or donations to TWD Battlefront ICW2 Participant
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Hosting SWBF with PC Dedicated Server Software (and Invincibility)
« Reply #27 on: September 22, 2013, 02:45:28 PM »
In the GUI there is a discrete amount, maybe 6 values or so.  I do not know if it can be uncapped, or what would happen if you left off the value, or if you can set any value you want.

If you wanted to test this, then I would suggest that you set up a high TPS server and see what happens at various cap levels.
Alrighty, thanks for the advice!
I might try to incorporate an advanced mode (Like a Menu-SubMenu option switch), so that more learned users would be able to use it as well..
swbf-unmunge-howto

We're successfully DE-obfuscating the battlefront tcp/udp protocol! 12/10/17

Davenport

  • The Resident Bird
  • {Alpha}
  • This Man Has No Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 1369
  • Captain of The Alpha Clan [TAC]
  • Awards Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site Special Award for those that play SWBF2 Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • The Alpha Clan
    • Awards
  • PSN: Only_Whisper
  • Steam ID:
Just thought I would point out that Portforwarding.com has removed their listings for portforwarding Star Wars Battlefront 1 and 2, most likely due to the Gamespy shutdown. I wouldn't be surprised that Portforwarding.com is unaware of Gamemaster.

I know how to portforward without that site's help, but I would recommend the thread be updated for the sake of others.

Led

  • Administrator
  • The Chosen One
  • *****
  • Posts: 6538
  • The 82nd Element
  • Awards Special Award for players of the EA's SWBF (2015) Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: _PLA-Led
  • Origin ID: plaled
Just thought I would point out that Portforwarding.com has removed their listings for portforwarding Star Wars Battlefront 1 and 2, most likely due to the Gamespy shutdown. I wouldn't be surprised that Portforwarding.com is unaware of Gamemaster.

I know how to portforward without that site's help, but I would recommend the thread be updated for the sake of others.

initial post has been updated
Don't believe everything you read on the internet