Author Topic: Start up bug  (Read 346 times)

LBmyBB

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 38
  • A youngling in all aspects.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Start up bug
« on: November 27, 2019, 06:45:21 PM »
 I start up the game as normal, but for some reason it doensn't pick up my mouse until the big blue actual game screen. When it does get to the game screen, there's nothing to select. There's the word "back" in the bottom left corner, but I can't select it even if I click on it. Help?

Dark_Phantasmagorical

  • The Official Ghost
  • Administrator
  • This Man Has No Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 1174
  • Awards SWBFspy SWBF1-Player of the Month To recognize Modders that make a most excellent contribution within the Month A member of the winning team of ICW6 Administered events in ICW5 A member of the winning team of ICW5 Special Award for those that play the original SWBF ICW4 Participant Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site ICW3 Participant
    • View Profile
    • The BOBclan
    • Awards
  • PSN: phantom567459
  • Steam ID:
  • Origin ID: phantom567459
Re: Start up bug
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2019, 10:54:17 PM »
Did you get the game from steam?  If so, I would redownload it - sounds like the shell file is corrupted.
The BOBclan:  A Rich History


'Please, tell me more about the logistics of the design of laser swords being wielded by space wizards' - Some guy on the internet.

LBmyBB

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 38
  • A youngling in all aspects.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Start up bug
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2019, 11:02:25 PM »
No, I had my version before steam released it. I don't think steam would have anything to do with it. I did a fresh installation and I have the same problem. Literally a week ago it was fine and now it's not.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2019, 11:30:38 PM by LBmyBB »

Led

  • Administrator
  • The Chosen One
  • *****
  • Posts: 7281
  • The 82nd Element
  • Awards For those who play any version of the 2016+ EA games Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: _PLA-Led
  • Origin ID: plaled
Re: Start up bug
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2019, 06:09:48 AM »
do you use a wireless mouse?
Don't believe everything you read on the internet

LBmyBB

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 38
  • A youngling in all aspects.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Start up bug
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2019, 10:18:36 AM »
Yes but I don't see how that would affect anything.  Heres a gif of what happens btw
https://imgur.com/M19sKLt
(just wait a few sec cuz it's black at first)
« Last Edit: November 29, 2019, 10:22:18 AM by LBmyBB »

Led

  • Administrator
  • The Chosen One
  • *****
  • Posts: 7281
  • The 82nd Element
  • Awards For those who play any version of the 2016+ EA games Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: _PLA-Led
  • Origin ID: plaled
Re: Start up bug
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2019, 11:32:18 AM »
Are you trying 1.0 or 1.2?   (5 CDs?  or some DVD?)

Have you installed any mods after your clean install?  (i.e. SWBFspy patch)
Don't believe everything you read on the internet

Dark_Phantasmagorical

  • The Official Ghost
  • Administrator
  • This Man Has No Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 1174
  • Awards SWBFspy SWBF1-Player of the Month To recognize Modders that make a most excellent contribution within the Month A member of the winning team of ICW6 Administered events in ICW5 A member of the winning team of ICW5 Special Award for those that play the original SWBF ICW4 Participant Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site ICW3 Participant
    • View Profile
    • The BOBclan
    • Awards
  • PSN: phantom567459
  • Steam ID:
  • Origin ID: phantom567459
Re: Start up bug
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2019, 03:55:48 PM »
Might need to replace your shell.lvl (need to know what version first) as well, after you answer Led's questions
The BOBclan:  A Rich History


'Please, tell me more about the logistics of the design of laser swords being wielded by space wizards' - Some guy on the internet.

LBmyBB

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 38
  • A youngling in all aspects.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Start up bug
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2019, 06:17:38 PM »
Are you trying 1.0 or 1.2?   (5 CDs?  or some DVD?)

Have you installed any mods after your clean install?  (i.e. SWBFspy patch)

Um no I don't think so. I think it came with it, as well as swbf2 maps. But guess what. I ran the "swbf1launcher.exe" and then started working perfectly. I actually have no idea what is going on.

barbar12

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Start up bug
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2019, 12:21:02 AM »
Hi Guys,

I am having the same problem as LBmyBB, but I have Battlefront 1 on steam. I have tried reinstalling it and restarting my computer, but nothing has worked so far. I do not have any mods downloaded, and I downloaded it on my laptop and it works there, so I do not know why it would not work on my desktop. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.