Author Topic: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account  (Read 3343 times)

Anyder

  • Learning Manager
  • Moderator
  • Lavish Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3851
  • Awards DET1-admin To recognize Modders that make a most excellent contribution within the Month SWBF LeaderBoards 2-first ICW4 Winner For those who play any version of the 2016+ EA games A member of the winning team of ICW6 Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Origin ID: AnyderMotionless
Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« on: June 01, 2016, 11:57:48 AM »
Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account

1) Make sure you download the proper file (Client / Server)

2) Make sure you overwrite the old file (or if you wanna keep the old file, just rename the old one to “BattlefrontII - Gameshare.exe” and paste there the new one).

3) If you're not gonna download the autoinstaller, I'll remind you that you need WinRar to extract the files (Or any other program similar to this one) -- WinRar Download link ( http://www.win-rar.com/download.html?&L=0 )

4) Make sure you have installed it correctly at the following location:
C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\  SWBF1 or SWBF2 Folder \GameData -- There u should find Battlefront.exe or BattlefrontII.exe (Check for last modification date --> It must be 5/28/16 or later)
*Note: If the OS is 32-bit, omit the (x86)

5) If their game was bought through Steam, the location of the game folder will be here:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common


EDIT:

Now, if u're crashing try these solutions:

- Enable stereo mix
How to Enable Stereo Mix:
Start > Control Panel > Sound > Recording tab > If you don't see Stereo Mix, right click and select Show Disabled Devices > Enable Stereo Mix
(If you still don't see Stereo Mix, try to plug in a mic and enable it)
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/39532/how-to-enable-stereo-mix-in-windows-7-to-record-audio/
https://www.google.com/search?q=how+to+enable+stereo+mix&client=aff-maxthon-maxthon4&channel=t28&gws_rd=ssl

- Run as admin; go to right click on the entire SWBF2 folder (located here: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common) and going to:
Properties > Security > Edit > Choose your User > give it full permissions by clicking the Allow on everything there > Apply. > Advanced > Add Permissions if you like > at the top change OWNER to your main User. > hit Apply. > then go back to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common > click SWBF2 > GameData > right click on SWBF2 > at the top it should say Run as Administrator, try to run it that way, if that doesn't help, right click again > go to Properties > Compatibility > Run the program in Compatibility Mode. In Security make sure you have admin rights there also, simply go to security and check. click Edit to change Permissions, click Advanced to change Owner and more Permissions just like before with the SWBF2 folder.

- Delete vidmode (vidmode is located here: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Star Wars Battlefront II\GameData\DATA\_LVL_PC )

- Plug something into microphone port
« Last Edit: December 27, 2016, 10:02:00 AM by Anyder »
| SWBFSpy  Learning Manager & SWBFSpy Engagement | SWBFSpy Operations Dpt. | communityambassador@swbfgamers.com

 | WhatsApp: +34 602 67 61 20

SWBFSpy Info Website: http://info.swbfspy.com

[SWBFspy][Alpha]Drunken_Master

Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2016, 04:30:32 PM »
or if the OS is 32-bit, omit the (x86)

Anyder

  • Learning Manager
  • Moderator
  • Lavish Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3851
  • Awards DET1-admin To recognize Modders that make a most excellent contribution within the Month SWBF LeaderBoards 2-first ICW4 Winner For those who play any version of the 2016+ EA games A member of the winning team of ICW6 Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Origin ID: AnyderMotionless
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2016, 04:33:44 PM »
or if the OS is 32-bit, omit the (x86)
Thanks, added  :cheers:
| SWBFSpy  Learning Manager & SWBFSpy Engagement | SWBFSpy Operations Dpt. | communityambassador@swbfgamers.com

 | WhatsApp: +34 602 67 61 20

SWBFSpy Info Website: http://info.swbfspy.com

SleepyAlligator

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2017, 05:14:07 PM »
I really didn't want to leave a message, but I'm not getting this solved on my own, so here goes: I bought the game (BF2) on Steam and am trying to play multiplayer. Going through the instructions here, getting the client to run as admin from within the C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common. Putting the .exe in that folder isn't allowing me access.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2017, 04:35:46 PM by SleepyAlligator »
“Do not seek the truth; only cease to cherish opinions.”
-Adyashanti

Davenport

  • The Resident Bird
  • {Alpha}
  • This Man Has No Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 1369
  • Captain of The Alpha Clan [TAC]
  • Awards Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site Special Award for those that play SWBF2 Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • The Alpha Clan
    • Awards
  • PSN: Only_Whisper
  • Steam ID:
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2017, 06:30:15 PM »
I really didn't want to leave a message, but I'm not getting this solved on my own, so here goes: I bought the game (BF2) on Steam and am trying to become one with the Force, I mean trying to play multiplayer. Going through the instructions here, getting the client to run as admin from within the C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common place, I'm still not sure what to do. When I run the game from Steam, it still wants me to connect to Gamespy. I'm still not able to play multiplayer.

First thing first, did you download the new .exe for your game and use it to replace the old .exe?

Led

  • Administrator
  • The Chosen One
  • *****
  • Posts: 6616
  • The 82nd Element
  • Awards For those who play any version of the 2016+ EA games Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Tunngle ID: _PLA-Led
  • Origin ID: plaled
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2017, 06:47:18 PM »
I really didn't want to leave a message, but I'm not getting this solved on my own, so here goes: I bought the game (BF2) on Steam and am trying to become one with the Force, I mean trying to play multiplayer. Going through the instructions here, getting the client to run as admin from within the C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common place, I'm still not sure what to do. When I run the game from Steam, it still wants me to connect to Gamespy. I'm still not able to play multiplayer.

Download the file at this link:
http://www.swbfgamers.com/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=1384

right click and extract it

copy the new exe file to your steam location.  My steam location is at:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Star Wars Battlefront II\GameData
(see attached image)


right click on this new exe file and select "copy"

go to your desktop and paste SHORTCUT


to run multiplayer, do not go through steam, double click on your new SHORTCUT

Don't believe everything you read on the internet

1ИC06И170

  • Illuminati Modder
  • Frequent Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
  • On the battlefront since 2009
  • Awards Special Award for those that play the original SWBF Special Award for those that play SWBF2
    • View Profile
    • Incog's realm
    • Awards
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2017, 01:23:30 AM »
Also I'd like to add that there's a weird issue going on when running the SWBFSpy executable with a NVIDIA GPU with Optimus on Windows, no server appears as if the regular Vanilla .exe is launched, oddly enough, the issue is absent when ran through Bumblebee and Wine on Linux.  :shrug:

Also, check out my total conversion for BF1: Ferocious Battlefront
http://www.moddb.com/mods/ferocious-battlefront

Anyder

  • Learning Manager
  • Moderator
  • Lavish Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3851
  • Awards DET1-admin To recognize Modders that make a most excellent contribution within the Month SWBF LeaderBoards 2-first ICW4 Winner For those who play any version of the 2016+ EA games A member of the winning team of ICW6 Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Origin ID: AnyderMotionless
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2017, 07:43:06 AM »
Also I'd like to add that there's a weird issue going on when running the SWBFSpy executable with a NVIDIA GPU with Optimus on Windows, no server appears as if the regular Vanilla .exe is launched, oddly enough, the issue is absent when ran through Bumblebee and Wine on Linux.  :shrug:
Patch the original exe from ur game folder and let us know if it persists. It should not affect anything since it's a masterserver redirecting modification.
| SWBFSpy  Learning Manager & SWBFSpy Engagement | SWBFSpy Operations Dpt. | communityambassador@swbfgamers.com

 | WhatsApp: +34 602 67 61 20

SWBFSpy Info Website: http://info.swbfspy.com

SleepyAlligator

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2017, 04:57:48 PM »
Download the file at this link:
http://www.swbfgamers.com/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=1384

right click and extract it

copy the new exe file to your steam location.  My steam location is at:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Star Wars Battlefront II\GameData
(see attached image)


right click on this new exe file and select "copy"

go to your desktop and paste SHORTCUT


to run multiplayer, do not go through steam, double click on your new SHORTCUT

Did this, just like this. Tell me if it seems like I'm wrong. But I get this error message when I run it from my desktop: "The code execution cannot proceed because binkw32.dll was not found. Reinstalling the program may fix this problem." So, I reinstalled entire game. Reproduced the exact same error. This is what I was trying to convey to the best of my non-technical ability.   :confused: Not trying to be obnoxious.
“Do not seek the truth; only cease to cherish opinions.”
-Adyashanti

Anyder

  • Learning Manager
  • Moderator
  • Lavish Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3851
  • Awards DET1-admin To recognize Modders that make a most excellent contribution within the Month SWBF LeaderBoards 2-first ICW4 Winner For those who play any version of the 2016+ EA games A member of the winning team of ICW6 Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Origin ID: AnyderMotionless
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2017, 05:05:32 PM »
Well, I see the "missing" file there but named with caps. Try to spell it just like it says, without caps.

See if that works
| SWBFSpy  Learning Manager & SWBFSpy Engagement | SWBFSpy Operations Dpt. | communityambassador@swbfgamers.com

 | WhatsApp: +34 602 67 61 20

SWBFSpy Info Website: http://info.swbfspy.com

Davenport

  • The Resident Bird
  • {Alpha}
  • This Man Has No Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 1369
  • Captain of The Alpha Clan [TAC]
  • Awards Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site Special Award for those that play SWBF2 Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • The Alpha Clan
    • Awards
  • PSN: Only_Whisper
  • Steam ID:
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2017, 05:13:58 PM »
Did this, just like this. Tell me if it seems like I'm wrong. But I get this error message when I run it from my desktop: "The code execution cannot proceed because binkw32.dll was not found. Reinstalling the program may fix this problem." So, I reinstalled entire game. Reproduced the exact same error. This is what I was trying to convey to the best of my non-technical ability.   :confused: Not trying to be obnoxious.
Well, I see the "missing" file there but named with caps. Try to spell it just like it says, without caps.

See if that works

I think there's also a problem with you having a Space in the executable name. It's supposed to be "BattlefrontII.exe", no space between the word and the number. Caps shouldn't make a difference.

Binkw32.dll should also work with or without Caps. Make sure the file type is actually a .dll and change the name back to just "binkw32". You can click on Properties to check the filetype. If it's not a .dll, right click on it and Open in Notepad. Then click Save As and when the save tab pops up, click on "All Files" then change the name to "binkw32.dll". That will change the file type.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2017, 05:17:23 PM by Ultimo »

SleepyAlligator

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2017, 05:16:03 PM »
Well, I see the "missing" file there but named with caps. Try to spell it just like it says, without caps.

See if that works

Not sure why it saved itself in all caps. I changed it to miniscule lettering (no caps), but same error message.

I'm determined here. If you have any more ideas, lay 'em on me. Working on this since last night. Oh what a weekend, working on the ability to play video games instead of actually playing them.
“Do not seek the truth; only cease to cherish opinions.”
-Adyashanti

Anyder

  • Learning Manager
  • Moderator
  • Lavish Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3851
  • Awards DET1-admin To recognize Modders that make a most excellent contribution within the Month SWBF LeaderBoards 2-first ICW4 Winner For those who play any version of the 2016+ EA games A member of the winning team of ICW6 Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
  • Origin ID: AnyderMotionless
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2017, 05:17:40 PM »
Actually, I think it's because you have a Space in the name. It's supposed to be "BattlefrontII.exe", no space between the word and the number. Caps shouldn't make a difference.
And neither does that, since the SWBFSpy patch is called "Battlefront II - SWBFSpy".

Not sure why it saved itself in all caps. I changed it to miniscule lettering (no caps), but same error message.

I'm determined here. If you have any more ideas, lay 'em on me. Working on this since last night. Oh what a weekend, working on the ability to play video games instead of actually playing them.
Well, at this point, my suggestion is that, if u do not mind, u reinstall the entire game, and that u patch the BattlefrontII file urself. I made a video long ago on how to do it -- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y2Ued5OKc9U
« Last Edit: September 24, 2017, 05:19:54 PM by Anyder »
| SWBFSpy  Learning Manager & SWBFSpy Engagement | SWBFSpy Operations Dpt. | communityambassador@swbfgamers.com

 | WhatsApp: +34 602 67 61 20

SWBFSpy Info Website: http://info.swbfspy.com

Davenport

  • The Resident Bird
  • {Alpha}
  • This Man Has No Life
  • *****
  • Posts: 1369
  • Captain of The Alpha Clan [TAC]
  • Awards Recognizes someone who most generously donated funds to the site or the site Special Award for those that play SWBF2 Special Award for those that play the original SWBF
    • View Profile
    • The Alpha Clan
    • Awards
  • PSN: Only_Whisper
  • Steam ID:
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #13 on: September 24, 2017, 05:18:30 PM »
Sorry, I edited my Response. Check upward and here...

I think there's also a problem with you having a Space in the executable name. It's supposed to be "BattlefrontII.exe", no space between the word and the number. Caps shouldn't make a difference.

Binkw32.dll should also work with or without Caps. Make sure the file type is actually a .dll and change the name back to just "binkw32". You can click on Properties to check the filetype. If it's not a .dll, right click on it and Open in Notepad. Then click Save As and when the save tab pops up, click on "All Files" then change the name to "binkw32.dll". That will change the file type.

SleepyAlligator

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Steam ID:
Re: Installing SWBFSpy: What to take into account
« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2017, 05:24:20 PM »
Thanks fellas. I'm going to reinstall (again). I'll watch that How To Patch video.
“Do not seek the truth; only cease to cherish opinions.”
-Adyashanti