remove overheat weapon

Started by Xaxadar, August 07, 2023, 01:11:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic
Hello

I'm looking for how to suppress the overheating of weapons for a whole game, for the player
I did the following searches in the api for console code:

https://github.com/Gametoast/SWBF2-Lua-API/blob/master/API/LuaDevelopmentTools/Battlefront2API.doclua

but obviously there is no ready "remove overheat" function from what I have seen a function to remove overheating. It is surely necessary to select the weapon which is in the inventory and to apply to this weapon another function of the api.

My goal is to write a script that can be added to the fake console.
I'm a newbie to modding this game, but I know how to code and I'm willing so any help would be appreciated.
Thank you for taking the time if you ever want to help me.

August 07, 2023, 05:51:33 AM #1 Last Edit: August 07, 2023, 05:54:12 AM by {AR}MetalKiller Reason: Remove code block for better readability
Behind every script function there is usually a function within the game code.
If your intention is to add a "RemoveWeaponOverheating" function, you would need to connect this script function with a function in the game code that implement this functionality (I doubt that there exists one).
For it to work you would need to have access to the game code or find a way to inject code into the executable.
This is not trivial.

I have only modded for SWBF1 so far, but I assume that it is not that different to SWBF2.
If you want to remove the weapon overheating only for a specific weapon you could modify the respective side (have a look at the modding tutorials).
Let's say you want to remove the overheating of the rebel pistol:
- Find the file "all_weap_inf_pistol.odf" in your custom side directory
- Open it with a text editor of your choice
- Look for the line that contains "HeatPerShot"
- Set its value to 0
- Munge your custom all.lvl side
- Make a backup of your original all.lvl